Skylar Shoar Writing navigation. Top Home button 3.Skylar Shoar Writing navigation. Top About us button 3.Skylar Shoar Writing navigation. Top Books button 3.Skylar Shoar Writing navigation. Top Get in Touch button 4.

Skylar Shoar Author

Reader Testimonials

Welcome to Skylar Shoar Author’s website, where you can read all about my debut romance duology, The Power of Us and The Perseverance of Us. Known as the “Us Duology”, these are long, detailed novels which explore the issue of living with past trauma, growing as a person, developing confidence and learning to love. My passion is to create characters who are both flawed and beautiful and bring them to life inside an extensive narrative structure that one can dive into for hours on end.

My latest book, Dreams of Fate and future novel, Touch, follow similar lines to the “Us Duology” but each have their own unique plot lines which zero in on the power of touch, the subconscious and the supernatural. Still my Forever is a second chance romance exploring themes of family abuse and resilience.

The Power of Us and The Perseverance of Us, better known as the “Us Duology”, along with Dreams of Fate is now available from Amazon.

Touch and Still my Forever is coming in 2022.

 

 

The Power of Us 

Goodreads Community Readers

    

“...Absolutely phenomenal!!! I am apart of "Two Bookish Girls" and we recently done a live review of this book on Facebook live last Saturday..." 19 Jul 2021.

    

“...Wow!!! I don’t know what I was expecting when I picked this book up, but that’s definitely not it!! And trust me, that is a good thing. Cassy and Harly’s story is deeply emotional, incredibly heartfelt, and so very genuine..."  21 Jun 2021.

    

“...This Duology definitely did pull at my heartstrings AND made me think about my life! There were many “oh my goodness! / what the heck!? / NO WAY!!” moments. It definitely was NOT your typical romance novel..." - 14 Jun 2021.

    

“A beautifully written love story! It is an absolute must read!" - 18 May 2021.

    

“Skylar writes a bloody amazing book that has you hooked before the end of the first chapter. The chemistry between Harly & Cassidy is evident in their dialogue and the way the author describes their interactions..." - 6 Mar 2021.

        

“...The debut novel of Skylar Shoar is a delicately-woven contemporary romance, with unexpected plot twists and a breathtaking connection between characters. A story piece together without flaws, a love-based relationship that will leave you wanting for more, a passionate dive into the world of emotions… a real page turner!" - 14 Feb 2021.

    

“I absolutely loved this book. I am not much of a contemporary romance type of person (that is how I'd categorize this book) however this one was fantastic. The entire story was pieced together flawlessly from beginning to end..." - 31 Jan 2021. 

    

“I very nearly read this book straight through without stopping. It totally captured me..." - 20 Jan 2021.

         

“What did I think of this book? AMAZING! Cannot wait to read the second one! Had me crying, laughing, snorting the whole lot. I wonder if I can get a signed copy ? Anyone?" - 17 Jan 2021.

         

“...This was the most emotional read ever  If you haven’t read this I recommend you add it to your list because this story will sweep you away and ride you through emotions you never expected." - 16 Jan 2021.

       

“This book had me fall in love with romances once more. After a time without reading, this was the perfect story to pick up. Cassidy and Harly are such loveable characters and easily to relate too. The story of how these two characters meet and develop as a couple is beautiful. The author clearly knows how to write and this is an author I’ll be following. Can’t wait for the second book to come out." - 14 Jan 2021.

     

“This is the first book I read from this author and let me tell you that I loved it! Such a good book with great characters that keeps you obsessed with every page since the first one. The ending of this book.. come on! I just didn´t expect it! Can´t wait to read other books from this great writer! Amazing job! a must-read!. A fantastic book that has it all! I happily endorse this story to any and all who are looking for an enjoyable read and a completely different experience than anyone could imagine on their own. Great book! This was an emotional and enjoyable read! This love story is absolutely beautiful. Great read!" - 26 Dec 2020.

      

“Add this to your TBR list. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and I couldn't put it down! All the characters are brought to life by the author's amazing way of making these complex characters relatable, and you can't help but cheer them on through all the ups and downs. Both Cassy and Harly have a past they're haunted by, and yet these difficulties bring them closer together despite outside forces working (overtime) against them.
The themes in this story- loyalty, love, friendship, and honesty are delicately woven into each chapter. I can't wait to read the next book in this series, and more work by Skylar Shoar." - 20 Dec 2020.

     

“This book has got me back into reading! Love romance & the power love can have, which this novel definitely has! Couldn't or shall I say didn't want to put it down." - 11 Nov 2020.   

        

“This love story is absolutely beautiful. I seriously had a book hangover when I finished it. The characters, Cassidy and Harly, are well-developed, relatable and so easy to love. I highly recommend." - 25 Oct 2020.     

     

“The characters are relatable, so the reader can easily fall into the story and ultimately they find themselves rooting for that HEA they crave. Would definitely recommend!!" - 24 Oct 2020.

Amazon Reviewers

        

“Get ready for a hard-hitting love story...

This was an emotional and enjoyable read! I typically don't read novels with billionaire tropes, but I quickly fell in love with this one because of the depth of the characters and their emotions. Cassidy is a well-developed character independent of the romance, and you find yourself rooting for her to find belonging and a family after her traumatic past. I definitely recommend you give this book a try even if it's not your usual read, you'll be pleasantly surprised with Skylar's storytelling skills! :)" - 14 Dec 2020.

     

“Wow...That’s all I can say.

This is one of the best books I’ve read by far. You feel everything that our characters Cassidy and Harly are feeling. Plot twists you will never see coming. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a next book HUSBAND. Yup, I said husband because trust me as much as you would want a book boyfriend, Mr. Harley Ashbey goes beyong that. The connection you feel between the two characters is breathtaking. This book is 100% going to leave you on a book hangover. I just finished and I want to go back to the beginning and re-read it for the first time! I wish I could give this book a 10/5." - 3 Dec 2020.

     

“A mesmerizing love story!

This book is a deep, passionate dive into two very complex characters. The connection between these two is breathtaking, and their story is woven so beautifully together. I was swept away." - 29 Oct 2020.  

        

“Purchased this novel for my partner & the last few days I have hardly seen her. Her response when finished was: love it, love the characters, love how it is written from the main characters point of view, made me giggle, smile & understand the pain. Need the second book!" - 28 Oct 2020.

The Perseverance of Us

Amazon Reviewers  

     

“...Shoar has a gift, her writing style is gritty yet emotional, and it draws you in and makes you feel things for the characters she has created..." - 21 Jun 2021.

    

“...Cassidy and Harly were like a real couple! With their age gap, it was really interesting to see how their relationship would unravel. They experienced real life ups and downs, major turbulence and had to go through so much to get to where they did. It was heartbreaking, emotional and inspiring all at the same time..." - 14 Jun 2021.

    

“...I'm so glad that I read both of these books as they are a definite addition to anyone's TBR list." - 9 Mar 2021.

    

“This duets , and this couple, the whole story.....it is everything. I'm honestly sad it's over. This was packed full of emotionally daring moments..." - 2 Feb 2021.

     

“Beautiful and intense story 

“...The story is heartbreaking and with every page you turn you don’t know what will happen next. I absolutely loved this book and the love these two characters have is amazing and beautiful.
I would highly recommended this book to everyone " - 17 Jan 2021.

     

“I got this book to read over the Christmas break because I'd loved the first book in this duology and I had to see what was going to happen with Harley and (especially) Cassy. I will say that this book did not disappoint! This book was incredibly moving and I found myself filled with emotion at every turn of the page. I'm really happy that it picks up where the first book left off because can we say cliffhanger? haha. Anyway, I loved the character development, and it was really great to read how both characters handled Cassy's news at the end of the first book. Like the first book, Cassy and Harly's life together is not always easy, but they certainly persevere and show the importance of commitment, and love, and how powerful these elements are. I absolutely adored this story, and I cannot wait to read more from Skylar." - 27 Dec 2020.  

     

“Beautiful love story: Absolutely loved Harly and Cassidy and supporting characters. The character development and story line is stunning. The novel is a page turner and I didn’t want it to end. I can’t wait for this author’s next book." - 2 Dec 2020.

Goodreads Community Readers

     

“This book picks up right where book one ended and immediately Cassidy and Harly face the biggest hurdle of their lives and just when they think they’ve managed to jump it—another takes it place. In this book they both mature and learn how to work together to create the life they both want. Cassidy fights for her independence and with Harly’s support she finds her calling. Harly faces his guilt from his past to move beyond his private turmoil. The plot twists and turns continue and Harly and Cassidy’s relationship is just as passionate as steadfast as ever.

Turbulent family relationships heal, pasts mistakes are forgiven, and a happily ever awaits." - 22 Jan 2021.

     

“Absolutely loved this book. Being the second book in a duology, I could not wait to get my hands on the book and continue on with Cassy and Harleys story. I wasn’t disappointed as the story starts where the first book ends. I loved how the characters handled the sensitivity of the storyline and I think the author wrote the emotions perfectly. This story of cassy and Harley continues with the ups and downs of life and had me on a rollercoaster of emotions from start to finish. I highly recommend this duology and can’t wait to get more reading material from Slylar Shoar." - 21 Jan 2021.

    

“First of all wow. Just wow. Loved this series it really is an emotional roller coaster. Cassy and Harley is a couple you can’t but adore, you root for them through out the many hurdles life throws at them." - 6 Jan 2021.

     

“Absolutely loved The Power Of Us and The Perseverance Of Us did not disappoint! Without giving anything away this book made me smile, giggle and brought tears to my eyes. I love the journey it took me on & the ending but now I feel a slight void knowing my journey with Cassidy & Harly has come to an end :-( who knew a book could make you feel that! Will definitely keep an eye on Skylar Shoar for more fab reads." - 30 Dec 2020.

Dreams of Fate

Goodreads Community Readers

    

“...You will laugh, you will cry, you will want to throw your kindle at the wall… Shoar has written a beautifully crafted masterpiece that will stay with you long after you’ve finished reading. I completely recommend!!!" -  20 Aug 2021.

    

“Well, my goodness.

The blurb intrigued me, and the content walked the walk. This was an exceptionally imaginative book, with so much depth and richness to the plot. I'm still digesting everything, and have a massive book hangover..." - 7 Aug 2021.

    

“What a journey... Dreams of Fate is actually one of the best Romance books that I've read in the last couple of years. Skylar's prose, as always, is flawless, and her ability to showcase emotions with each character is on point...." - 2 Aug 2021.

    

“...I’ve never read anything like this before. It was steamotional and I read it all in one sitting..." - 1 Aug 2021.

    

“I was super excited to read this book, and oh boy I was not disappointed. From the very first page I was hooked, and could tell that I was in for a good cry..." - 31 Jul 2021.

    

“This is my favourite book so far from Skylar! I love her writing, the flow & the way she creates her stories. How the characters draw you in & you never want it to end. Dreams of fate had me on a roller-coaster of emotions and you will definitely need tissues!..." - 27 Jul 2021.

    

“Dreams of Fate is a beautiful story of what it means to never give up. When life throws you a curve ball you do anything and everything to come out thriving! The reader embarks on a journey when they meet both Blair and Tyler and you can't help but want them to find happiness! Take a chance on this book you will not be disappointed! Great job! " - 27 Jul 2021.

    

“Dreams of Fate is a gripping and magical romance that I could not put down!
Skylar Shoar once again dives deep into humanity, pulling forth an exquisite canvas full of color and depth. The twists and turns you do not see coming, the characters are vibrant and real. The love story is aching and raw. This is truly a book worthy of a repeat read." - 26 Jul 2021.

    

“A beautiful story that holds the reader’s attention from the first page, with delicately-woven elements of love, friendship, and emotion. Skylar Shoar delivers a new book, one that feels very much like an emotional rollercoaster, leaving you wanting for more. What a brilliant idea for a book! I loved the fact that the author decided to bring the ethereal world into her story..." - 26 Jul 2021.

    

“What a beautiful tale of love, friendship, family and fate. Skylar has a way with words that entice you in and transport you to the world which she has created. The compelling and realistic backdrop of this story made a comfortable home of the beautiful words..." - 23 Jul 2021.

    

“...This book will creep right up on you and get you in the heart. It started slow for me but something kept me going. A few intriguing lines. A niggling in my conscience to find out more about Tyler and Regan and Blair. And by the end, I couldn’t read it fast enough even though I had tears running down my face. It was that good..." - 23 Jul 2021.

    

“...I have never read such a unique storyline. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a sucker for cliches but Skylar Shoar breaks each and everyone one of them. Her writing is so lovely and intriguing. From the very beginning you make an instant connection with the characters..." - 21 Jul 2021.

     

“...This book was emotional so grab the Kleenex. You will be rooting for Blair to find her happily ever after even if it isn't how she thinks it will look." - 19 Jul 2021.

    

“Dreams Of Fate is not your typical romance novel, I think I experienced every emotion imaginable.  This book was emotional so grab the Kleenex..." - 16 Jul 2021.

    

“...If I could give Dreams of Fate more than 5 stars I would. Skylar writes an emotional strangers to lovers romance that has your heart beating faster than normal, tears falling down your cheeks and falling in love with the thought that just maybe dreams can bring the love of your life to you..." - 12 Jul 2021.

    

“AMAZING!

This book is absolutely a top read for 2021 - maybe even all time. I have never read a book in this genre that compares. I am truly blown away - if I could give it a thousand stars I would..." - 12 Jul 2021.

    

“...Ms. Shoar breaks the mould in conventional romance writing. Dreams of Fate takes you on a romantic journey both in your dreams and once you are awake..." - 11 Jul 2021.

      

“...This is my first time reading Skylar Shoar's books, and I really loved the author's writing. The current plot, and the backstories of all the characters were extremely diverse and refreshing to read..." - 11 Jul 2021.

    

“...Once again, Skylar Shoar writes an “emotional, out of body and magical experience” that kept me wanting more. She always manages to write a little bit of “real life” without taking away from the beauty of the love story itself. My “Ugly Cry” was in major effect and there were so many “WTFLIP” moments. I couldn’t put this book down..." - 10 Jul 2021.

    

“...This book has it all, love; heartbreak; grief; love triangle; ex- lovers. Literally everything. There are so many twists in the story, just when you think you know what’s going to happen the book takes an unexpected turn. This complex romance novel will have you gripped until the end..." - 8 Jul 2021.

    

“...I want to get lost in the people, places, and feelings of any book I read and it was so easy with this story...this is a great read...These characters will be with me for a long time!" - 8 Jul 2021.

    

“...It’s one of those books where the characters feel like your friends and you’re sad to close the book and see them go..." - 31 May 2021.

 

 

 

Take a look at the About Me and Books page to learn more about upcoming novels and the story of Skylar Shoar Author.

 

 

Skylar Shoar Writing navigation. Home button 3.Skylar Shoar Writing navigation. About us button 3.Skylar Shoar Writing navigation. Books button 3.Skylar Shoar Writing navigation. Get in Touch button 4.